}); Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson beats Kevin De Bruyne to FWA Footballer of the Yr award - UK News Broadcasts

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson beats Kevin De Bruyne to FWA Footballer of the Yr award


Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has been named the Soccer Writers’ Affiliation Footballer of the Yr.

The midfielder, who lifted the Reds’ first title for 30 years on Wednesday, was the outright winner forward of Kevin De Bruyne.

He has skippered Liverpool to their first Premier League crown this season with Jurgen Klopp’s facet 18 factors forward of Manchester City earlier than Sunday’s closing sport at Newcastle.

Having already lifted the Champions League in 2019, Henderson became the first Liverpool captain in 30 years to lift the title


Having already lifted the Champions League in 2019, Henderson turned the primary Liverpool captain in 30 years to carry the title

Henderson additionally spearheaded the #playerstogether initiative in the course of the coronavirus lockdown which noticed gamers staff up with NHS Charities Collectively to boost cash for the NHS.

He mentioned: “I’d wish to say how appreciative I’m of the assist of those that voted for me and the Soccer Writers’ Affiliation on the whole.

“You solely have to have a look at the previous winners of it, a lot of whom I’ve been blessed to play with right here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Steven Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Mohamed Salah) to understand how prestigious it’s.

“However as grateful as I’m I don’t really feel like I can settle for this by myself. I don’t really feel like something I’ve achieved this season or in reality throughout my entire profession has been completed by myself.

“I owe lots to so many various folks – however none extra so than my present team-mates – who’ve simply been unbelievable and deserve this each bit as a lot as I do.

“We’ve solely achieved what we’ve achieved as a result of each single member of our squad has been good and never simply in matches. Not simply in producing the moments that make the headlines and the again pages however on daily basis in coaching.

Laura Woods explains why Kevin De Bruyne is her PotY and Jordan Henderson ought to get Soccer Writers’ Award

“The gamers who’ve began essentially the most video games for us this season have been nearly as good as they’ve been due to our tradition and our surroundings at Melwood. Nobody particular person is liable for that – it’s a collective effort and that’s how I view accepting this honour.

“I settle for it on behalf of this entire squad, as a result of with out them I’m not able to be receiving this honour. These lads have made me a greater participant – a greater chief and a greater particular person.

“If something I hope those that voted for me did so partly to recognise the complete staff’s contribution.

“Particular person awards are good and they’re particular and I’ll cherish this one. However a person award with out the collective achievement wouldn’t imply anyplace as a lot to me – if something in any respect.”

In addition to the highest 5 of Henderson De Bruyne, Marcus Rashford, Virgil Van Dijk and Sadio Mane, 10 different gamers obtained votes from FWA members.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Alisson Becker, Raheem Sterling, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Sergio Aguero, Adama Traore, Danny Ings, Jack Grealish, James Maddison and Jonny Evans have been all nominated.

FWA chair Carrie Brown mentioned: “Management is intangible and infrequently unquantifiable until it’s inarguable. Jordan Henderson is each the final word skilled and now a bona fide Liverpool legend.

“Jordan is a participant his team-mates look to on the pitch and who his rivals look as much as off it.

“The voting standards for the Soccer Writers’ Affiliation Footballer of the Yr is one who leads by principle and instance and on this nation’s darkest second, Jordan, unprompted, personally rallied membership captains to ascertain #PlayersTogether.

“He’s a very worthy winner of our award.”

The Footballer of the Yr trophy has been awarded since 1948 when Sir Stanley Matthews was its first recipient.


Supply hyperlink

Post Comment